If you are looking for updates on Texas medical marijuana, then you have landed onto the right place.
Marijuana business is a multi-million dollar industry that boasts billions of buyers across the world. A recent poll finds that nearly half of Americans have tried marijuana. With the rampant use of marijuana, many states have regulated marijuana consumption.
However, Texas medical marijuana laws remain in the news for its obscurity and confusion.
Texas has the harshest marijuana laws. When it comes to cannabis use, the state has a conservative and traditional approach.
Our guide revolves around questions about Texas medical marijuana laws, patient qualification criteria, the cost (pounds) of weed in Texas, and several other queries. So before any delay, let’s get started!
- Is Medical Marijuana Legal in Texas?
- Compassionate Use Act – Basis Of Texas Medical Marijuana
- How To Get A Texas Marijuana Card?
- How to Get Medical Marijuana in Texas?
- Is Growing Weed in Texas Legal?
- Is CBD Legal in Texas?
- Are Weed Dispensaries in Houston Texas Legal?
- How Much Weed Is A Felony in Texas?
- Is Weed Decriminalized in Texas?
- How Much is a Pound of Weed in Texas?
- Conclusion on Texas Medical Marijuana
Is Medical Marijuana Legal in Texas?
Yes, medical marijuana in Texas is legal. However, this allowance comes with a range of other restrictions. Marijuana that contains 1 percent or fewer levels of THC is considered legal for only those patients who are eligible for cannabis use under the Compassionate Use Program.
What Dosage Forms are Allowed For Texas Medical Marijuana?
Low-THC comes from hemp (Cannabis Sativa). The physicians prescribe tinctures, capsules, and tablets that do not contain more than 1 percent of THC. Smokable flower is not allowed.
Compassionate Use Act – Basis Of Texas Medical Marijuana
The Compassionate Use Program regulates marijuana in Texas. The program came into existence after the enactment of the Compassionate Use Act. Cannabis possession was illegal in Texas until 2015. Governor Greg Abbot signed SB 339 into law which is now known as the Texas Compassionate Use Act.
How To Get A Texas Marijuana Card?
Unlike other states, there is no medical marijuana card in Texas. All you need to do is consult a CUP physician who will enter a prescription in the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas (CURT). The patient, or his legal guardian, can collect the prescribed drug from a licensed dispensary after giving their details.
The physician is responsible for registering the case into the Registry. There is no fee for such a registration but the latter needs to be updated annually.
How to Get Medical Marijuana in Texas?
To get medical marijuana in Texas, you need to fulfill the following three conditions:
- You are a Texas resident.
- You have qualifying conditions or medical ailments. (See next section.)
- You need to find a prescribing doctor in your state.
Several companies assist patients in finding a medical marijuana-prescribing doctor in their area. You need to fill out a form to look for a doctor. The company then sends you an email with local and telemedicine options. After your appointment, you can get your drug from a dispensary associated with the company, or they may deliver it to your doorstep.
Who Qualifies as a Marijuana Patient?
Procuring marijuana in Texas is not easy since strict laws surround its use. It is only available for terminally-ill patients and people with chronic diseases. Unlike other states, Texas does not allow the sale of marijuana for anxiety or depression symptoms.
People with the following conditions can get a marijuana prescription in Texas:
- Intractable Epilepsy & Seizure Disorders
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Parkinson’s Disease
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
- Incurable Neurodegenerative Diseases
- Alzheimer’s and other dementias
- Cerebral Palsy
Expansion in the Medical Conditions; 2021 Updates
New rules regarding medical marijuana went into effect in September 2021. The law doubled the THC allowable limit from 0.5 percent to 1 percent. Secondly, it allowed marijuana access to patients with cancer of any type and PTSD patients.
Is Growing Weed in Texas Legal?
Unlike other states, Texas has restrictive laws regarding weed. In reality, there are no such laws for growing cannabis in Texas, but its possession is illegal. The Texas law considers marijuana cultivation as the intentional possession of the drug.
Is CBD Legal in Texas?
The 2018 Farm Bill excluded hemp from the category of marijuana. Hemp contains less than 0.3 percent of THC, the psychoactive ingredient that causes a high. Hemp-derived CBD is, therefore, legal in Texas.
You must be thinking, is CBD oil is legal in Texas? CBD oil is legal everywhere in Texas, as long as it does not contain more than 0.3% of THC.
Are Weed Dispensaries in Houston Texas Legal?
There are a few licensed dispensaries that remained open during the coronavirus pandemic, thanks to the state’s confusing legislation and the dispensary licensure process.
The state has three licensed dispensaries:
- Compassionate Cultivation
- Surterra Wellness
- Fluent (Formerly known as Consortium Texas)
However, there are other weed dispensaries in Houston as well where you can get your desired product with a prescription.
How Much Weed Is A Felony in Texas?
The possession of 4 to 5 pounds of marijuana is a punishable offense in Texas. It leads to a:
- Mandatory minimum sentence of 180 days
- Maximum of 2 years imprisonment
- Fine not to exceed $10,000.
The punishment may vary depending on the amount of marijuana possessed.
Is Weed Decriminalized in Texas?
Texas house passed the marijuana legalization bill in the Spring, 2021. The lawmakers asked to reduce the penalties for possession of marijuana. It came into effect in September, with a decrease in the intensities in punishments for possession of marijuana. However, weed is not decriminalized altogether in Texas.
How Much is a Pound of Weed in Texas?
Medical marijuana is of varying prices depending on the quality. In Texas, high-grade marijuana costs $437.90/oz. as compared to $478.41 in New York. The price of a pound of medium quality weed purchased from a dispensary in Texas is $1850.00, whereas high quality medical marijuana is $2100.00
Conclusion on Texas Medical Marijuana
Texas has the most punitive cannabis laws among other states of America. Although, it is progressing by imitating its surrounding states. Generally, Texas laws align with the federal’s, but, it is wise to study the cannabis laws of the state in question to be on the safe side.